I Will Fight to Save Your License,
Protect Your Rights,
& Keep You Out Of Jail.
Click Here for Testimonial's From Happy Former Clients.
Anyone who's been stopped for a DUI knows it is a frightening experience. Officers are intimidating and the experience is often surreal. After the initial shock of the arrest, being taken for a breath or blood test, and being issued a criminal citation, you must now deal with the legal consequences, not to mention family, financial, and emotional consequences.
Those convicted of DUI in Washington face mandatory penalties, such as: jail sentences, license suspensions, increased "high risk" SR-22 insurance, electronic home monitoring, probation, alcohol assessments and follow-up treatment.
There are two main aspects to a DUI case: the Criminal Court Prosecution and the Department of Licensing Hearing. In the criminal court prosecution the state will seek to put you in jail, put you on probation for five years, and impose mandatory conditions including a 1 year ignition interlock device requirement (a blow-and-go device in every car you drive for a year) and SR-22 (high-risk) insurance. You are also subject to fines of up to $5,000.
A first time DUI conviction requires 24 hours consecutive jail time, over $800 in total fines/costs/court-fees, mandatory alcohol classes, and an alcohol evaluation and recommended follow-up treatment. The court may suspend your license for 90 days, or up to a year if you refused the breath test or are found to have been above a .15 BAC.
A second DUI conviction results in increased mandatory jail time of 30-45 days, in addition to increases in the fines and license loss issues (including a much longer requirement for an ignition interlock device).
In addition to the criminal court proceedings, the Department of Licensing will also seek to suspend/revoke your license. See the DUI page at www.dol.wa.gov. For those who refuse, the Department will seek to revoke your license for a year or more.
But it is not all bad news. A competent DUI Defense Attorney will fight your case every step of the way. From the initial Arraignment, to Department of Licensing Hearings, Pre-Trial Motions, Negotiations, Settlements, and Trial. Every case is different and requires serious legal analysis - work with an attorney who works with DUI more than anything else. I dedicate the majority of my practice to DUI Defense and will fight to protect your rights.
Many of my clients who are initially charged with DUI end up with either a greatly reduced charged (e.g., a negligent driving or reckless driving, which has no mandatory jail time, less fines, less probation, less or no license loss, and no ignition interlock requirement), or an outright dismissal.
Every case is different and requires special attention and an individualized legal analysis. I have reviewed hundreds of DUI reports in my career and spotted thousands of issues. This allows me to tailor a unique approach to each case, seeking the best possible results for my clients.
As your attorney, in addition to fighting the legal battle, I will personally help you navigate the difficulties of dealing with your DUI. I am Available By Phone 24 Hours a Day - when I'm not in the office, calls are regularly forwarded to my personal cell phone.
Call (425) 322-1076 and ask to speak to Attorney Brian Sullivan for a FREE CONSULTATION about your Washington DUI.
Attorney Brian Sullivan is a has been an extern at the Washington Supreme Court (extern Clerk to Justice James M. Johnson), and a DUI prosecutor, and now is in private practice in Everett, Washington. His solo practice is limited to mostly DUI Defense and Auto Accident Injuries. Mr. Sullivan also represents clients charged with felony alcohol offenses, including attempted elude, vehicular assault and vehicular homicide. While based in Snohomish County, Attorney Sullivan accepts cases around the state, including cases in King, Chelan, Skagit, and Whatcom Counties. For a free consultation with Attorney Sullivan, call his office at: (425) 322-1076.
Washington DUI Law Information
Statute for Driving under the influence: RCW section 46.61State "Per Se" BAC Level - Adults with a .08 BAC (breath test) or higher are "per se" DUI in WA.As of August 2005, all states have DUI laws that deem "per se intoxicated" any driver with a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) at or above .08 percent. This means that drivers with a BAC at or above .08 are intoxicated in the eyes of the law, and no additional proof of driving impairment is necessary.
"Zero Tolerance" BAC Level - Minor's with a .02 BAC (breath test) or higher are "per se" Minor DUI in WA.All states carry "zero tolerance" laws that target drivers under the legal drinking age. In WA, these laws penalize persons under 21 for operating a vehicle with a negligible BAC level of .02 percent. Enhanced Penalty BAC Level - .15 BAC (breath test) - If you blow over a .15, the penalities are greatly enhanced
Refusal - Refusing the Breath Test (BAC) is grounds for increased penalities, both for a potential license suspension and criminal penalites. A first time DUI conviction where the person is found to have refused is subject to a 1 year license revocation.Mandatory Alcohol Education and Assessment/Treatment - Alcohol education and treatment/assessment penalties for DUI offenders can include mandatory attendance at DUI prevention programs, and assessment of potential alcohol dependency problems. Such programs are often made "conditions" of the person's release or conviction for a DUI.Ignition Interlock Device - A vehicle ignition interlock breath-testing device measures a vehicle operator's BAC, and will prevent operation of the vehicle if more than a minimal amount of alcohol is detected (i.e. BAC level of .02). DUI offenders are required to pay the costs of installation, rental, and maintenance of an ignition interlock device.
Note: Persons arrested for DUI will be subject to additional criminal law penalties not addressed here -- including jail time, fines, and community service. Such criminal penalties are difficult to accurately predict without an experieneced DUI Attorney reviewing your case.
Generally speaking, first-time DUI offenders can expect to incur a fine, and face the possibility of jail time. Repeat DUI offenders will incur harsher fines, and will almost certainly be sentenced to a number of days in jail. Penalties will be harsher still if the DUI offender was involved in an accident in which someone else was injured or killed.
A Good DUI Defense Attorney will fight the probable cause to stop, arrest, FSTs, statements, and breath test. Success at any of these issues may get your case dismissed or the charge greatly reduced. If there was no probable cause, often the case must be dismissed!
Call Attorney Brian Sullivan for more information and a
FREE CONSULTATION: (425) 322-1076